Daron Acemoglu

Professor, Department of Economics; Institute Professor

Daron Acemoglu is an Institute Professor at MIT and his academic work covers a wide range of areas, including political economy, economic development, economic growth, inequality, labor economics and economics of networks. He is the author of five books, including Why Nations Fail: Power, Prosperity, and Poverty and The Narrow Corridor: States, Societies, and the Fate of Liberty (both with James A. Robinson). He is an elected fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, the Turkish Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Econometric Society, the European Economic Association, and the Society of Labor Economists. He has received the inaugural T. W. Shultz Prize from the University of Chicago, the inaugural Sherwin Rosen Award for outstanding contribution to labor economics, a Distinguished Science Award from the Turkish Sciences Association, a John von Neumann Award, a Carnegie Fellowship, a Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize, and a Global Economy Prize. He has also received a John Bates Clark Medal, Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize, and BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge Award. He holds honorary doctorates from the University of Utrecht, the Bosporus University, University of Athens, Bilkent University, the University of Bath, the Ecole Normale Superieure, Saclay Paris, and the London Business School.